In Support of Planned Parenthood

On my way to Trader Joe’s today, swinging through Chapel Hill, I saw two groups of protesters outside of Planned Parenthood.  A Church group was burning incense and their leaders were standing around in robes.  The other group, the Pro Planned Parenthood group had signs that read they were for Planned Parenthood.  I am for Planned Parenthood because they helped me at a time that was very difficult for me.   I am a rape survivor.  The damage it did me psychologically was indescribable.  I walked around not knowing my own name, not taking care of myself and lost years of my life, so that I’m in my mid forties and still trying to finish school.  It wasn’t my choice to be pregnant, but it was what it was.  Now, having said all of that, I am for Planned Parenthood.  They perform services for women, especially low-income women that are essential.  They educate about sexual health.  I was a client as a young woman, needing information about my body that I couldn’t get anywhere else, because they wouldn’t tell me in school, my mom was dead, my stepfather was a pedophile and women’s magazines just encouraged me to be submissive.  Without Planned Parenthood, where would these women turn to for help?  In a modern society like ours, we shouldn’t be taking steps backward by defunding Planned Parenthood.

Copyright © 2011 Kimberly Yarbrough Carpenter

Leave a Reply!

