Choices

Life is a series of choices.  A life lived well, is a series of choices made with the best intentions in mind.  Today, I woke up late and nearly missed Mass.  To miss Mass, for me, is like missing a chance to visit with my family.  So, although Dame’s Chicken and Waffles was calling to me, I got off at Chapel Hill Street, made a right turn and went to Immaculate Conception Catholic Church in Durham.  My home church is Holy Cross Catholic, but I overslept and missed 10am Mass.  Sorry Father Ray.  Anyhow, there were two things happening today that I would have missed if I had not turned right today.  Today was the last weekend that Fr. Steve would be in Durham, and two sweet little babies were welcomed into the Church and to a life with Christ.  How wonderful!  I loved seeing the babies being baptized, and to participate with the congregation in renewing my baptism.  I loved hearing that Fr. Steve enjoyed eating at Mama Dips and watching movies.  This made him seem like a regular guy, just like I’m a regular girl.  I felt close to him, and although he is leaving our parish, I wish him all the best in Rhode Island.  I loved living in Massachusetts (except for the snow) and miss it.  So was it really my choice to wake up late today and miss Mass at my home Church, or was I led to make that right turn at 11:15am?  The answer lies in what you believe.  I believe, so I made the right choice today.

Copyright © 2011 Kimberly Yarbrough Carpenter

Leave a Reply!

