Summer Sand, A Dreamy Boy and Martha’s Vineyard

Look here! Another summer is about to debut and I still don’t know anyone that lives or vacations on Martha’s Vineyard. I am starting a get Kimberly to Martha’s Vineyard Campaign.  No, I don’t want to stay in a ratty hotel.  I want to stay over a weekend in a beautiful home, ride a bike, eat ice cream and lobster rolls and sit my butt on the sand and thank God for making such a beautiful place.  Then I want to skip through the water and look at the cute boys.

Are you listening?  If you are reading this, then you have been drafted to help me. Um, too late, can’t back out now.  I see you reading.

When I was younger, I met a really cute boy who told me his family had a home on Martha’s Vineyard.  He said I could visit him, but I never saw him again.  Let me tell you, that boy was a sweetie pie.  He touched my hand and I felt like I knew him for centuries, then he was gone.  I think my stepfather got in the way and kept me and him apart.  My stepfather was a ghoul from Creature Features, always trying to figure out how he could profit or fit himself into a situation that had nothing to do with him.  I’m serious!  Now, before you begin to think that I’m just maligning the man, you need to know he stole my Girl Scout cookies, ate them and didn’t pay me for them.  Now you know those Girl Scout Leaders are not playing when it comes to getting their money.  They’re like the Mafia, with Girl Scout troops hanging out on every corner selling sugary crack.  So, to put a little girl in harms way, and to have Girl Scouts looking for me, well let me just say, we had to move across town.  That didn’t help though.  They found us.  Like I said, Mafia.

Anyhow, the beach…the boy…and the rest of the story:

So anyway, I never saw that boy again.  He sure had a cute smile.  I wanted to run away with him and never come home again.  Like they used to say back in the day, he was dreamy.  I’m sitting here now, swooning, just thinking about him.  Hmmmmmmm

Oh yeah, the beach.  So I want to go to Martha’s Vineyard, or Oak bluffs or anywhere up in there.  I feel it’s my destiny, a returning home of sorts.

So cute boy (who is now a handsome man) come and get me again.  Sweep me off my feet. I promise, the old man that kept us apart is long gone.  No one will stand in our way now, except maybe time.  Yeah, that one is hard to beat.  Well, if you can’t come now, maybe we will see each other again.  I hope I know you and remember the summer when we met.

Copyright © 2011 Kimberly Yarbrough Carpenter

Leave a Reply!

