In Honor of Gil Scott Heron

The hole cannot be filled that once contained you.

Now that you’re gone, we play your songs.

I listen and let the words wash over me

The melody and the phrasing

All comes down to

Gil, you were amazing.

 

Since you caught a ride

Home

Before me

Tell them I’ll come around shortly.

 

Got some things to do

Want to see a thing, or two

Can’t wrap my mind around love

And all the ways it’s kept me

And although I am alone

He’s there for me.

 

Talking about “The Bottle”

Got me thinking

Was the revolution televised,

While I was sleeping?

 

Looking to 2012

Still love Barack and Michelle.

 

Unemployment and the economy

Haven’t been my friends

Month to month

Struggle to meet the ends.

 

Still I rise

greet the sun

Singing, “Pieces of a man”

Gil Scott Heron

You were truly one.

Copyright © 2011 Kimberly Yarbrough Carpenter

Leave a Reply!

