One Author Tackles Trayvon Martin and the Deadly Legacy of Vigilantism – COLORLINES

One Author Tackles Trayvon Martin and the Deadly Legacy of Vigilantism – COLORLINES.

I do not own a hoody to wear in solidarity to protest Trayvon’s killing.  I wish I did.  It is the skin that I live in as a black woman that I share with this young man. It is the perception or “look” as though I do not belong that I share with Trayvon.  It is the gaze upon brown skin that would cast me as the other, that I share with Trayvon.  This I cannot escape.

As we remember Trayvon and as the hoody is worn by those who are not black boys, we are forced to confront the real issue that has always been at the center of why black skin is criminalized.

Leave a Reply!

