Diagram of Desire

That’s it.  Woke me to sit straight up in bed.

A memory we share:

You in a bed of grass with unabashed pride.

I walk there and wait, but noticing me is not on the menu.

A  youthful beauty is reflected in your eyes.

Singing, clapping, “Diamond in the back, sunroof top…”

Your scene I’m digging right about now.

I try and try but you’re awake by her side.

Then I realize, this is real, this is it

The sun is shining and I’m down here.

Up is where I belong.

Copyright © 2012 Kimberly Yarbrough Carpenter

Music Suggestions:  Have a Talk With God, Stevie Wonder

Diamond in the Back, Curtis Mayfield

2 thoughts on “Diagram of Desire

Leave a Reply!

