Night Creatures

National treasures appeared on my wall one night

Priceless artwork loomed above the bursting sound of my grumbling belly

I leaned close,  minding the invisible rope

Reaching out, I tried to borrow a cup of sugar from God’s outstretched finger,

but that old Michelangelo tossed a bucket of water in my direction.

I shivered beneath the crystal drops.

Lifting my chin, I said,

“Papa’s with me too, not just on your crooked ceiling.”

Copyright © 2012 Kimberly Yarbrough Carpenter

Leave a Reply!

