Slow Dancing Alone

It’s been awhile since we danced.

That song is playing and I’m here all alone.

Last time I closed my eyes, like magic you appeared.  We weren’t mismatched, but we were in the same place.

The dancehall was a bit rustic.  I didn’t care.

I couldn’t look you in the eyes because mine were full of tears.

The first time we danced to this song, I was a little bit, held in your arms.

Now, all grown up, I’m too big for that.  But I still find a way to wedge myself into your comforting circle.

Here or there, your long, long presence is felt.

Thank you for the dance.

Copyright © 2012 Kimberly Yarbrough Carpenter

Music Suggestion: Am I Dreaming, Atlantic Starr

Leave a Reply!

