Captain

Clouds of sweetness

in your mouth

rolling, tumbling

’round

You take

I give

A call and response

“Anywhere?” I ask.

“Name it,” He says.

“Say it,” I plead.

He makes me wait,

listening to wired clicks,

and tension inhaled breath.

My eyes close

upon the locked away image,

his face,

intent on making me wait.

I ask again, “Say it, please?”

Then all at once

in his unique measured pitch, he says:

“Sugar.”

Nails against tie…remember, no scratching.

 

Copyright © 2012 Kimberly Yarbrough Carpenter

Leave a Reply!

