1st Day of School

I asked Mom if I could walk to school by myself.

She checks the lead stories: Bacon Shortage Predicted.

“Hmm, you walk ahead.  I’ll follow,” She instructs while grabbing a coat.

“Mom…”

“Don’t worry.  No one will notice I’m there,” She says.

The other kids laugh at me, and say I’m dirty.

Why don’t they notice my boots are always clean?

I smell sweet because my Nanna washes me with a special brush and soap that she bought just for me.

I have to hurry to school before the truancy bell rings.

It’s dangerous walking the streets this early.

People seem nice as I walk by.  They smile and ask me in for breakfast.

Photo credit: Angel Romanoglass
Leave a Reply!

